Blogs – Are We Getting Somewhere?

December 10, 2007

Two posts about blogging sensitive subjects at the BBC. One from Tom Scott  and one from Curtis Poe.

I shouldn’t blow my own trumpet as Curtis is referring to the guidelines that I helped write.

But his comments make me think we, (and I mean the BBC, James Cridland, Tom Scott and everybody) might just be getting somewhere in trying to make the BBC more open.

Curtis says:

“And despite various things the BBC has done wrong, this is what the BBC does right. Blogs are for communicating, not for press releases. They’re not official discussions, but they can say a lot more about a company than an official communication which is carefully vetted by lawyers. And while the BBC has plenty of blogs, you don’t even have to blog there about your job if you don’t want to. I sometimes blog about the BBC on my personal journal rather than their official ones. They’re OK with that. I finally get to work for a company which “gets” blogs.”

One Response to “Blogs – Are We Getting Somewhere?”

  1. Idetrorce Says:

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce


Leave a comment