“Product”: a light goes on…

January 31, 2011

At work there’s a lot of activity going on about “products”.

To quote Erik Huggers BBC Online is moving away from publishing websites towards developing and managing “products”.

I read the research with interest, but if I’m honest, I wasn’t entirely sure in my own mind what a “product” actually was.

Until two weeks ago, when the new version of H2G2 went live.

It felt like a switch had been clicked in the back of my brain. I suddenly thought, “Now I know what a product is – it’s this“.

It’s a dynamic mix of human beings and technology that never stops working. You have to constantly develop if it is to suceed, or even simply survive.

So now I know.

What’s next?

Picture of new H2G2 design from Aerian studios. Click on the image to go to Aerian's website

3 Responses to ““Product”: a light goes on…”

  1. almost witty Says:

    What’s next? Telling everyone else in the BBC what a product actually is 😉

  2. nickreynoldsatwork Says:

    That’s why I wrote this post!

    You know one when you see one…


Leave a Reply

