Sgt Pepper at Ashlyns School

May 8, 2008

Last Thursday I went to an unusual concert at Ashlyns school in Berkhamsted.

A group of school children, teenagers and some enthusiastic adults performed the Beatles’ Sgt Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band, in its entireity. Including a band, big brass section and choir.

The event was an offshoot I think of the work done by the Pepper Foundation charity which holds concerts every year in Berkhamsted.

Apart from my daughters peformance in the choir (but then I’m biased) the highlight of the gig was a wonderful performance of “She’s Leaving Home”.

It made me realise what an astounding good song it is. For some reason it took me back to my own school days and listening to Shubert in music lessons (only “She’s Leaving Home” is a better song than “The Trout”). 

It was also a clever idea to set “Within You, Without You” to the arrangement of “Tommorow Never Knows” as even the most hard core Beatles fan might admit that “Within You, Without You” can be a bit of a trudge.

It was a really enjoyable evening and a very good idea. Sgt Pepper is a perfect vehicle for this since one of the things it’s about is people getting together to sing along. Suffice to say that the Pepper Charity is worthy of your support and I hope they do it again next year because I’ll be going.

Leave a Reply

