“Raw Power” by Iggy and the Stooges: a family tradition

May 20, 2014

I must have been 15 or 16 when I bought a copy of “Raw Power”. For some reason I can’t remember I bought it on cassette.

I remember bringing my portable cassette player into school and playing “Raw Power” very loud during lunchtime. I liked to turn the volume up right at the end of the title track where James Williamson’s guitar sounds like it’s been plugged directly into the mains. I remember one of the teachers coming in and telling me to turn it down.

Thirty years later.

My teenage daughter gives her mother a birthday present: a second hand vinyl copy (in good condition) of “Raw Power” on the CBS Embassy label.

20140519-090306.jpg

A family tradition has been established.

Why?

Perhaps because, more than any other performer, Iggy Pop embodies the idea that the individual has a right to self expression. Despite adversity, despite appalling behaviour from both the individual and from everyone connected with him, and despite a legion of people who thinks the individual is an idiot who will never accomplish anything.

I got a right.

One Response to ““Raw Power” by Iggy and the Stooges: a family tradition”

  1. Louis Gilbert Says:

    And despite he sells car insurance! There are not many iconoclasts I would forgive for this, but somehow I I still love Iggy


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,143 other followers

